August 29, 2014

sandyfarquhar:

Liza Minnelli guest stars on The Judy Garland Show, 1963.

i could write a book

(Source: lejazzhot)

August 29, 2014
bialerwochenblat:

I really like these old Yiddish King Kong posters-ads, so I remade the last one. I hope you like it. 

bialerwochenblat:

I really like these old Yiddish King Kong posters-ads, so I remade the last one. I hope you like it. 

(via the-bumbling-talmudist)

August 29, 2014
deadpandork:

tg-i:

officialkia:

pennameverity:

This is Duolingo, a language-learning website/app that deserves some serious recognition. It offers over 10 languages for English speakers, as well as courses for non-English speakers around the world, and they’re in the process of adding more. 
But wait, I don’t want to do any more schoolwork! Not to worry little one, Duolingo is actually more like a game. You can compete with friends, and earn “lingots” (which are basically Duolingo money) to buy power-ups, extra activities, and bonus skills - like Flirting.

I’m already taking a language, what do I need this for? 
It’s not really a secret that most school language courses (in America, anyway) suck and only teach you to speak the language at about a third grader’s level. Which is why Duolingo is so freaking awesome.
Teachers can’t give every student individualized attention, but Duolingo can. If you’re not learning the way you want to or as much as you want to in the classroom, Duolingo is a really great resource. It’s easy, tailored to you, and really effective.

Duolingo tracks your progress and reminds you when you haven’t studied for a while or need a refresher on something. Already semi-fluent in a language? No problem, just take a shortcut to more advanced subjects or test out of the lesson. 
The lessons start with the basics (he, she, hello, thank you, etc) and move up to harder stuff. Duolingo focuses on vocabulary first, so you can learn the language and then the grammar that goes with it - much simpler than the system most schools use. It also tracks the number of words you’ve learned and how well you know them.

And you don’t even have to write out the flashcards!
Duolingo is perfect for reviewing everything you forgot over the summer or giving you the extra help you need. And if you’re trying to learn a language on your own, it’s fantastic - you don’t have to create your own lessons. Whether you’re trying to learn your second, third, or fifth language, I seriously recommend Duolingo.
Okay, what else?
Duolingo also has discussion boards, where you can ask for help with a hard lesson, make new friends, watch for updates, and share your achievements.
Even better is the Immersion feature. It won’t send you to Spain or France, but it’s pretty awesome. Duolingo takes real articles from the internet, which users translate. You can translate articles from your native language into the language you’re learning or vice versa, which gives you more experience and makes the Internet more universal.
You can suggest new languages and track Duolingo’s progress in creating new courses. Bilinguals (older than 13) can help to create these courses. Duolingo has a long list of courses that can be contributed to, like Punjabi, Hebrew, and Vietnamese. Oh, and Dothraki, Klingon, Sindarin, and Esperanto.
And the best part? IT’S COMPLETELY FREE. 
If you love languages or just want to pass French class this year, USE DUOLINGO. Download the app and practice a language while you wait for the bus instead of playing Angry Birds!

Coolest app I’ve ever downloaded.

My dad uses this, and he loves it! He’s been multilingual for a long time (Spanish, Portuguese, Italian) and he says it’s taught him things that even he didn’t know. I might be using it for my german soon too, ‘cus I’m definitely rusty on that. Harumph

This is PHENOMENAL. I just started in my German major this past year, and the site is incredibly helpful for me to review what I know so far. I’m super excited to try it with new languages. 

been using this for over a year, it’s terrific

deadpandork:

tg-i:

officialkia:

pennameverity:

This is Duolingo, a language-learning website/app that deserves some serious recognition. It offers over 10 languages for English speakers, as well as courses for non-English speakers around the world, and they’re in the process of adding more. 

But wait, I don’t want to do any more schoolwork! Not to worry little one, Duolingo is actually more like a game. You can compete with friends, and earn “lingots” (which are basically Duolingo money) to buy power-ups, extra activities, and bonus skills - like Flirting.

image

I’m already taking a language, what do I need this for? 

It’s not really a secret that most school language courses (in America, anyway) suck and only teach you to speak the language at about a third grader’s level. Which is why Duolingo is so freaking awesome.

Teachers can’t give every student individualized attention, but Duolingo can. If you’re not learning the way you want to or as much as you want to in the classroom, Duolingo is a really great resource. It’s easy, tailored to you, and really effective.

image

Duolingo tracks your progress and reminds you when you haven’t studied for a while or need a refresher on something. Already semi-fluent in a language? No problem, just take a shortcut to more advanced subjects or test out of the lesson. 

The lessons start with the basics (he, she, hello, thank you, etc) and move up to harder stuff. Duolingo focuses on vocabulary first, so you can learn the language and then the grammar that goes with it - much simpler than the system most schools use. It also tracks the number of words you’ve learned and how well you know them.

image

And you don’t even have to write out the flashcards!

Duolingo is perfect for reviewing everything you forgot over the summer or giving you the extra help you need. And if you’re trying to learn a language on your own, it’s fantastic - you don’t have to create your own lessons. Whether you’re trying to learn your second, third, or fifth language, I seriously recommend Duolingo.

Okay, what else?

Duolingo also has discussion boards, where you can ask for help with a hard lesson, make new friends, watch for updates, and share your achievements.

Even better is the Immersion feature. It won’t send you to Spain or France, but it’s pretty awesome. Duolingo takes real articles from the internet, which users translate. You can translate articles from your native language into the language you’re learning or vice versa, which gives you more experience and makes the Internet more universal.

You can suggest new languages and track Duolingo’s progress in creating new courses. Bilinguals (older than 13) can help to create these courses. Duolingo has a long list of courses that can be contributed to, like Punjabi, Hebrew, and Vietnamese. Oh, and Dothraki, Klingon, Sindarin, and Esperanto.

And the best part? IT’S COMPLETELY FREE. 

If you love languages or just want to pass French class this year, USE DUOLINGO. Download the app and practice a language while you wait for the bus instead of playing Angry Birds!

Coolest app I’ve ever downloaded.

My dad uses this, and he loves it! He’s been multilingual for a long time (Spanish, Portuguese, Italian) and he says it’s taught him things that even he didn’t know. I might be using it for my german soon too, ‘cus I’m definitely rusty on that. Harumph

This is PHENOMENAL. I just started in my German major this past year, and the site is incredibly helpful for me to review what I know so far. I’m super excited to try it with new languages. 

been using this for over a year, it’s terrific

(via freelgbtqpia)

August 28, 2014

renton-gg:

pardon-my-tits:

butnobodyknowsme:

Sex workers are human beings…. from cam models to strippers to porn stars. It may not be your cup o’ tea (mmm, tea), but it doesn’t give you the right to disrespect or shame them. 

Reblogging this again because people think that just because someone is a sex worker, means that they are not intelligent, can’t have normal lives, and treat them like complete shit.

I will always reblog this. We get way too much shit for just doing a JOB.

(via laurenmelanie)

August 28, 2014
disappointingpopsiclejokes:

Disappointing Popsicle Jokes

disappointingpopsiclejokes:

Disappointing Popsicle Jokes

(via laurenmelanie)

August 28, 2014
"

Lying is the best and often also the most ethical way to get a job.
For $150, this guy bought a fake résumé & callable references in an industry he’s never worked in. And got hired:

For a small fee, CareerExcuse.com promises to not only craft an elaborate lie based on your exact job specifications but to see it through for as long as necessary. The site will provide a live HR operator and staged supervisor, along with building and hosting a virtual company website—complete with a local phone number and toll-free fax. CareerExcuse will even go so far as to make the fake business show up on Google Maps.

William Schmidt started the site in 2009, after being let go from his job in a round of layoffs during the lowest depths of the recession.

“While we were all unemployed, a couple of my former coworkers asked me to act as their reference for job interviews,” Schmidt recalled. “I did it for free for my friends, but then I realized that this is some there’s a pretty big demand for. It was something I could take to the public.”

He was right. Within the first 24 hours of launching the CareerExcuse site, Schmidt had already received multiple order for his services. He’s quick to brush off ethical concerns, citing horror stories from his clients about being mistreated by their former employers (and thus being unable to acquire a reference) and noting that it becomes more difficult to land a job the longer someone’s been unemployed.

Employment is a racket. So is college.

"

May May (x)

Whoa

(via hi-coup)

(Source: fatsexybitch, via genderblinditem)

August 28, 2014

magnacarterholygrail:

thinksquad:

Calling all pot farmers: Uncle Sam is looking to buy.

An arm of the National Institutes of Health dedicated to researching drug abuse and addiction “intends” to solicit proposals from those who can “harvest, process, analyze, store and distribute” cannabis, according to a listing posted Tuesday night on a federal government website.

A successful bidder must possess a “secure and video monitored outdoor facility” capable of growing and processing 12 acres of marijuana, a 1,000-sq.-ft. (minimum) greenhouse to test the plants under controlled conditions, and “demonstrate the availability” of a vault approved by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and the Food and Drug Administration to maintain between 400 and 700 kg of pot stock, extract and cigarettes.

http://time.com/3194786/marijuana-research-national-institutes-of-health-pot/

so how long until they go ahead and treat marijuana with a bizarre mixture of US medical legislation and US food production so that the product is Monsanto-backed, the prices are jacked up, and the farmers are underpaid people of color? how long until a Fortune 500 company-run weed plantation?

(via genderblinditem)

August 28, 2014
Convicting Darren Wilson Will Be Basically Impossible

sonofbaldwin:

H/T Xenon Yuan

(via barbarismvideos)

August 28, 2014
“BORN IN FLAMES,” LIZZIE BORDEN’S 1983 FANTASY OF RADICAL FEMINIST REVOLUTION

GOOD REASON TO REWATCH

August 28, 2014
sagansense:

ucresearch:

Police Often Provoke Protest Violence, UC Researchers Find
Violent protests can often be unintentionally provoked by aggressive law enforcement tactics like approaching demonstrators in riot gear or the use of military-style formations, according to a team of researchers at UC Berkeley.

“Everything starts to turn bad when you see a police officer come out of an SUV and he’s carrying an AR-15,” said Nick Adams, a sociologist and fellow at UC Berkeley’s Institute for Data Science who leads the Deciding Force Project. “It just upsets the crowd.”

The researchers found that some law enforcement agencies are taking less provocative measures to calm the crowd.

During the Occupy protests, for example, police in some cities deployed officers in small clusters rather than in skirmish lines. Such cities tended to see fewer clashes between demonstrators and police, the researchers said.
“When it’s two or three officers, protesters don’t get intimidated,” Adams said. “They may even talk with the police.”

Read more about steps some law enforcement agencies are taking to reduce protest violence

“A civilization at war with itself…
…is doomed.”
— Carl Sagan

sagansense:

ucresearch:

Police Often Provoke Protest Violence, UC Researchers Find

Violent protests can often be unintentionally provoked by aggressive law enforcement tactics like approaching demonstrators in riot gear or the use of military-style formations, according to a team of researchers at UC Berkeley.

Everything starts to turn bad when you see a police officer come out of an SUV and he’s carrying an AR-15, said Nick Adams, a sociologist and fellow at UC Berkeley’s Institute for Data Science who leads the Deciding Force Project. It just upsets the crowd.

The researchers found that some law enforcement agencies are taking less provocative measures to calm the crowd.

During the Occupy protests, for example, police in some cities deployed officers in small clusters rather than in skirmish lines. Such cities tended to see fewer clashes between demonstrators and police, the researchers said.

When it’s two or three officers, protesters don’t get intimidated, Adams said. They may even talk with the police.

Read more about steps some law enforcement agencies are taking to reduce protest violence

A civilization at war with itself…

…is doomed.

— Carl Sagan

(via barbarismvideos)

Liked posts on Tumblr: More liked posts »